Cracker pot

Charcoal crackers topped with sumac spiced chickpeas and Turkish cacik

Gourmet food stores make my heart melt. The reaction at spotting one is similar to what shopaholics experience at the sight of the word ‘sale’. I rush inside and grab a whole lot of things I know nothing about.

At a recent trip, I bagged a box of charcoal crackers. The way dill crackers are laced with dill and chive with chives, these are flavoured with a small percentage of charcoal powder.

The salty, slim sheets are stark black in colour and have a carbony bite.  Their texture is similar to a pie shell – brittle and crumbly.

Though the crackers went miraculously well with blobs of brie, I couldn’t resist this little adventure.

Ingredients for sumac spiced chickpeas

1 cup chick peas (boiled)

1 tablespoon olive oil

½ tablespoon sumac spice

1 teaspoon dry thyme

1 teaspoon dry rosemary

1 teaspoon dry fennel

1 teaspoon dry basil

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon dry parsley

2 teaspoon pepper powder

Method:

In a blender, mix all the ingredients together (except chickpeas and olive oil) and grind it into a course powder.

To make the topping, mix the above mixture with olive oil and add boiled chickpeas to it.

Ingredients for Turkish cacik

1 cucumber (peeled and finely grated)

½ teaspoon olive oil

½ cup thick yogurt (chilled)

2 garlic cloves (minced)

Salt to taste

Method:

In a bowl, mix all the ingredients together and refrigerate them until use.

To serve: Top the charcoal crackers with the spiced chickpeas and cacik. Garnish with coriander stalk and serve.

46 thoughts on “Cracker pot

  1. Oh! This looks delicious! Never heard of or tried those crackers before, and I don’t eat much of chickpeas, but this looks and sounds delicious! 🙂

  2. what a beautiful dish…and the crackers sound so interesting. I enjoy chick peas topping a slice of toasted baguette – a bruschetta … a nice healthy little appetizer – this recipe sounds delicious.

  3. I would like to know more abot the charcoal crackers. What did they really taste like? Where did you find them? What brand? If anyone else tried them I would like to know what they experienced.

    I like trying strange things myself.

  4. Sounds rather yummy. Do you really need to do the first part in a blender? Can you not just mix them, or use a pestle and mortar?
    I live you blog name. Thank you for visiting my page.
    Before I venture further, is this a vegetarian page or are you meaty too?

  5. I don’t have sumac, and I wouldn’t be able to eat those crackers (I assume they contain gluten), but I might give this a whirl with some lemon juice in place of the sumac and some g-f crackers. Looks enticing!

  6. Thanks to this blog I went in search of charcoal crackers but I found other strange flavored crackers. I found World Market Black Sesame wasabi rice crackers. They were flat and the spiciness hit my tongue like pop rocks. It was like a tingly on my tongue.

  7. Hi there! I’ve been looking for the ingredients, and I have a problem with the sumac, I don`t have a clue of what it is! Could you please guide me? Or tell me a good choice to replace it with??

Leave a Reply

