On a sour note

Lemon and cream spaghetti with basil and chilli chutney

When I first heard about spaghetti al limone, I couldn’t bring the two flavours together in my head.  Since I usually like my pasta mild and easy, this combination got me cooking.

The role of bringing an edge to a pasta dish is mostly played by an herb or a sharp cheese, but using lemons provided a refreshing change.

To keep the dish from going hideously citrusy, I cut the flavours with a sweet and hot, basil-chilli chutney.

Lazy cooks, the sauce is almost no-cook, so it is perfect to stock in jars.

Ingredient for spaghetti with lemon and cream sauce
250 gram spaghetti (boiled)
Juice of 1 ½ lemons
3 tablespoons olive oil
3 gram parmesan cheese (grated)
2 tablespoon fresh cream
Salt and pepper to taste

Method:

In a bowl, mix together parmesan cheese with cream to make a thick sauce.

Heat oil in a pan and add the mixture to it.

Season it with salt and pepper and add the spaghetti.

Drizzle some lemon juice and give it a quick mix.

Serve with the chutney.

Ingredients for the basil and chilli chutney
2 cups basil (chopped)
1 green chilli (chopped)
1 clove garlic
Salt and pepper

Method: 

Grind all the ingredients in a mixer and adjust the seasoning. Since I like this chutney a little chunky, I used mortar and pestle to crush them.

60 thoughts on “On a sour note

  1. Again, a delicious recipe, with a very good picture. The only thing that worries me a bit, is the chili. I can’t stand hot food 😦

  2. Juice of 1 1/2 lemons seems to be a lot, which may be the reason why the citrus taste seemed so overpowering.

    When I make this dish, I use slightly over half as much, and more importantly, an equal amount of minced lemon zest. I’m going for a whisper of a lemon flavor which you can accomplish with the zest, especially with the essential oils. (If you go this route, you probably won’t need the basil/chili chutney.)

    Looks great otherwise.

    • I like it with all that extra lemon. I’m a lemon lover to put it straight 😀 The basil-chilli chutney is to give the dish a new dimension. I love playing around with classics. Your recipe sounds nice and mild. Hope you like it that way 😀

  3. Sounds delicious — I love all things lemon, so I can’t wait to try this (I adore pasta w/lemon, basil and olive oil in the summer and I’m intrigued with the cream component).

  4. Thank you for stopping by my blog! This post is really creative (just like the title of your blog which is inspired by one of my favorite movies). I love your idea of combining lemon and basil together. The pasta looks delicious, and I can’t wait to see what you post next. 🙂

    • Personally, I don’t need veggies in my pasta. One of my fav pasta dish is spaghetti aglio olio (plain pasta with garlic, olive oil and parsley). So this one works for me just right. Using only lemon and cream can make the dish a little flat on flavour, hence the basil chilli chutney. There is nothing bland about it, I promise!

  5. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the structure of your site?

    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect
    with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two pictures.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

Leave a Reply

