Looks like a tart

Basil, bell pepper and two cheese tartlet

I’m a cheese friend. Sometimes it takes just a tiny piece of emmental or grainy parmesan to calm my craving and sometimes I go all the way with a four cheese pizza.

Out of all cheeses, smooth cream cheese ranks very high on my comfort meter. On a normal day you will find me slathering  spoonfuls on hot baguette  slices. And when mid-night hunger pangs need to be battled, I eat it straight out of the tube.

Today, I used it to make an eggless tartlet. The cream cheese, heavy cream and milk mixture, forms an emulsion that is good enough to bind all the ingredients together without the usage of eggs.

Ingredients for the eggless short crust pastry:

225 grams plain flour

100 grams chilled butter (diced)

2-3 tablespoons of cold water

Pinch of salt

Method:

In a large bowl, sift flour and add chilled butter to it. Combine both these ingredients with your fingertips until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs.

Season it with salt and add water to make a firm dough. Refrigirate it for 20 minutes.

Roll out the pastry dough on a dry surface and line the tart tin with it. Prick the base of the tart with a fork and bake it for 15 minutes at 150 degree celsius.

Ingredients for the filling:

2 tablespoon olive oil

100 grams red bell pepper (roasted and chopped)

50 grams carrots (chopped)

¼ cup cream cheese

3 tablespoon milk

1 tablespoon heavy cream

3 cloves of garlic

Few slices of mature cheddar cheese

Few basil leaves (hand torn)

Salt and pepper as per taste

Method:

In a pan sauté garlic in olive oil for a few seconds. Add in the roasted bell peppers and carrots and sauté this mixture for three to four minutes. Remove from fire and let it come down to room temperature.

In another pan heat milk and add in the cream cheese and cream. Let the mixture simmer for a few minutes.

Fill the tart shells with the sautéed vegetables and top it with basil leaves. Pour the milk and cream mixture on top and even it out.

Cover the tartlets with slices of mature cheddar and bake it further for 30 minutes in the oven. Serve hot.

Have a happy new year, people!

64 thoughts on “Looks like a tart

  1. Lovely tart and cute post title. Happy New Year to you too. I know I’ve asked you this before, but are you a chef? You sure sound (and look) like it.

    I love cheese too but alas my stomach does not. That does not stop me from eating it though. I made a Quiche Lorraine on Christmas morning with Gruyere. Yum. I made a pumpkin cheesecake with cream cheese a couple of weeks ago. Unfortunately, bell peppers also hurt my stomach so I don;t think I could eat this double whammy but it sure is boo-tee-ful! 🙂

      • I should have asked are you a professional chef. You are CLEARLY a chef! Happy New Year Friend! Also, thanks for being my #4 top commenter on my blog in 2011. I appreciate your support.

  2. I’m a cheese fiend, so this recipe left me drooling just a bit… I love tarts, and this one sounds delicious with the use of all of the vegetables and especially basil. It’s also so versatile, and you could fill it with whatever you want, which I plan on doing in the near future!

  3. Oh wow, that’s one amazing looking tart! You weren’t joking about your thing for cheese were you? I actually read once that, like chocolate, cheese actually releases endorphins in the brain when eaten. So you can actually be addicted to it – not a bad thing to be addicted to if you can make things like this though.

  4. You and cream cheese? Me and brie. One of my favorite meals was a baguette with a thick layer of brie, and a few tomato slices layered down the length of the bread. This tart seems *incredibly* rich and tasty.

  5. That’s interesting I would have never thought to make a tart without egg. I will have to give this a go when I have ripe capsicums (bell peppers).

  6. gorgeous! This looks mouth-watering and it’s only 9.50am!!! I love cheese, I am sure Charlie would appreciate these tartlets; he is a big cheese fan! I will try to make it this weekend and let you know how I got on with it 😀 Thanks! 🙂

  7. This tartlet looks so beautiful and delicious. I would totally make this to serve at a party its so colorful and healthy and deliciously cheesy:)

  8. I have, till now baked just one savory tart, that too without APF…this one looks promising…bookmarking it in my ‘next-to-bake’ folder 😉
    You have cool place to hang around..and I loved the name of the blog…very unique 🙂

Leave a Reply

