Bean talk

Red bean hummus with falafel and chilled yogurt-garlic sauce

Out of all the things I eat in excess, I never feel guilty about indulging in hummus. They say that chickpea is good for your skin and that is an excuse enough to polish off tub-fuls. Even though pita bread goes with hummus like nothing else – salty chips and sesame-speckled lavash are my good friends too.

Today, I gave chickpeas a ditch and went for red beans instead (good for your hair).

Unlike hummus that is sparingly flavoured with basil leaves, red pepper, kalamata olives, pumpkin puree, peanut butter and other lovely flavours, this hummus bursts of just one flavour.

Ingredients for the red bean hummus

1 cup cooked kidney beans (soaked overnight and boiled)

3 garlic cloves (finely chopped)

2 tablespoons tahini

Juice of one lemon

½ cup olive oil

Salt as per taste

Method: In a food processor, blend all the ingredients into a fine paste. Add more olive oil to smoothen the paste. Garnish with finely chopped coriander stalks.

Ingredients for the falafel

1/2 cup chickpeas (soaked overnight and boiled)

1/4 cup  onions (finely chopped)

3 cloves of garlic (finely chopped)

1 tablespoon parsley (finely chopped)

1 tablespoon mint leaves (finely chopped)

1 teaspoon cumin seeds

salt as per taste

oil for deep-frying

Method: In a food processor, blend all the ingredients into a coarse paste. Make small balls with the mixture and deep fry them until golden brown.

Ingredients for the chilled yogurt-garlic sauce

½ cup chilled yogurt

2 cloves of garlic (chopped)

1 teaspoon spring onion greens (chopped)

Salt and pepper as per taste

Method: Mix all the ingredients in a bowl and refrigerate until use.

To assemble the dish

Stuff a pita bread with falafel balls and top it with the red bean hummus and yogurt-garlic sauce. Garnish with spring onions and serve.

66 thoughts on “Bean talk

  1. I am such a fan of beans!! (hence my blog name “Fork and Beans”) They are my meat substitute always, and just like you, I love hummus as well. And I am especially loving how you made it with red beans–very clever!! (As is your blog name…love it!)

  2. Interesting. I never thought of making hummus out of anything but chick peas. You are so imaginative! I adore hummus. Just had a half tubful myself this weekend with warm pita. Yum!

  3. I love making hummus with chickpeas. Also like making it with white beans. Have made black bean in a spread/hummus sort of way. Now you have convinced me to try it with rd beans. Looks wonderful. Thanks. Emily

  4. I have the same opinion! Hummus is healthy and I can eat it non stop 🙂 But only my own home made 🙂 I eat it with carrots so I don’t feel guilty 😀 I love chickpeas and I love kidney beans and both put together are even better! Next time I make hummus, this will be on my menu! 🙂 Thanks for the idea as always you come up with great recipes 😀

  5. ohmygosh! hummus is one of my favorite things to eat! i eat it with wreckless abandon! only how wreckless can it be since it’s so darn good for you? 😉 i’m not so sure ’bout the beans…ima have to think about that one…tee hee

  6. I love red bean hummus. Though, I’ve never had it with falafel balls before. I don’t think I have the patience, once it is made, to add anything else to the dish. It’s me, the hummus and a spoon. And you are so right, it is because unlike chickpeas, these beans have a full, rich flavour that needs little else.

  7. This looks super delicious. I love hummus and can’t wait to try this spin on it. I’m excited to read more of your blog – your name is very clever.

    I’m recently new to blogging and have a vegetarian cooking blog as well – welcome to the neighborhood.

Leave a Reply

