Dumpling ground

Water chestnut, shitake and edamame dimsums with honey, garlic and chilli sauce

I’m not big on Asian food, but when I crave for certain textures and flavours, I happily give in. I believe that no cuisine does justice to the energy of lemon grass, the denseness of tofu, the woodiness of bamboo shoots and the peculiar bite of bean curd, like Asian.

One such ingredient that blends extremely well with Asian fare is water chestnut. Personally, I always end up popping them one by one, as if they were popcorn or something. The burst of sweet juice is so addictive.

Today, I stir fried them with two ingredients that I absolutely adore for their texture – edamame beans and shitake mushrooms. I stuffed them in dim sum wrappers and served it with a hot and sweet sauce. 

For the dim sums

Ingredients:

5 round dim sum wrappers

¼ cup edamame beans

¼ cup shitake mushrooms (chopped)

¼ cup water chestnut (chopped and kept in cold water)

3 cloves of garlic (finely chopped)

¼ inch ginger (grated)

1 tablespoon sesame oil

1 1/2 tablespoon dark soy sauce

Salt to taste

Method:

In a wok, heat sesame oil and saute the ginger and garlic. Tip in the beans, shitake mushroom and water chestnuts and cook this mixture for 2-3 minutes. Add the soy sauce. Mix all this for another 2-3 minutes or until all the flavours look well mixed. Season it with salt and let it cool for a few minutes.

Take the dim sum wrapper and place the mixture in the centre of the circle. Fold it into half and pinch the sides with a wet finger. There are serveral ways in which you can fold your dimsums. The easiest way is to bring all the sides of the wrapper together and pinch them in the center. Steam these for 8-10 minutes and serve it with the honey, garlic and chilli sauce.

For the sauce

1 tablespoon oil

3 tablespoon honey

3 cloves of garlic (finely chopped)

Chilli powder as per taste

Salt as per taste

Method:

In a wok heat the oil and add the garlic. Pour in the honey gradually and sprinkle the chilli powder on top. Mix all the ingredients together for 3-4 minutes.

Let the sauce thicken on the stove for a few minutes more.  Serve it hot with dim sums.

85 thoughts on “Dumpling ground

  1. Good Morning! Just coming by to say hello and I have enjoyed checking out your blog this morning. I love water chestnuts, too. There is a great dip at my place using them. I hope you and your family have a good Thanksgiving.

  2. Edamame, shitake and chestnuts..i love all of them! Love that dipping sauce too. You’ve got a good blog here..its the title that drew me here. I love that movie 😉

  3. Love your photos. Your dimsums look totally delicious. I cook Asian food quite often and would love to make these. Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving such a lovely comment. Always great to have new blogging friends!

  4. I haven’t eaten any asian style food in about a year.
    This must change.
    My only question is where to by water chestnuts? I confess I’ve never heard of them! If I can track them down, I’ll be sure to make a batch of these and tell you how it goes =)

  5. Great post! Love Asian food, but I don’t have it too often 🙂 I like making my own dumplings at home 🙂 I don’t think I ever had water chestnuts in my food… Sounds very interesting 🙂 Had them once in Portugal, but on their own, they must add a great flavour to food 🙂

  6. Ah dim sum my weakness! I have to say this is the first time I’ve seen one of these babies look so good, usually looks are not their forte! Love the way you brought out the sumptuous rich brown and the pretty detail on the edging 🙂

    • Wow! Thank you for such a lovely comment. Photography is not my forte, actually. This must be one of those days. About the edge design – there is a traditional Gujarati snack called ‘ghugra’ where spiced potato and green pea mash is packed in flour pockets and deep fried. Thanks to my mum, I caught it quite young.

    • Hey Sandra, you assumption is quite right. I do get most of my ingredients from Crawford 😉 I have seen dry shitake mushrooms all over the city. Any gourmet food store will have them. All you have to do is soak them in hot water before use. Edamame beans are stocked by stores that have Trikaya herbs and veggies. Nature’s Basket is one of them. Let me know if you give up and just come to town 😀

  7. Wow, your food always looks AWESOME, Sonal. I love the ingredients, the look! Dimsums are my Achilles heel, but i’m going to try making these for sure!

  8. i confess I have never tried to make dimsum from scratch, though I couldprobably find the ingredients if I went to the big Chinese supermarket in Eastville, and your gorgeous photos certainly make me want to try. Nammy! X

  9. Oh wow, you make Dim Sum. now that is fantastic, and I adore Edamame, I tried to grow them but didn’t get great results, so I need to give them another go, my problem is that summer is never long enough or hot enough. But I’m going to look out for the dim sum wrappers now I know what to do with them.

  10. I love experimenting with the Asian flavors. How could you go wrong with garlic, ginger and soy. I think I might try the dim sum recipe ingredients (minus the wrappers), make it a bit more “saucy” and toss in rice noodles. Sincerely, Emily

    • Hey, thank you very much for dropping by. The design on the edge is very simple to create. I kept it back because I do it more out of instincts than technique. But for you, here goes – first you press both the ends of the wrapper together with a wet finger. This will give you a semi circle. Now starting from one corner, you pull out a little bit of the wrapper and fold it inside. Then you pull out the area above the last fold, pinch it and fold it again. Continue till you reach the other end. At first it will be all messy, but with practice it gets neater. All the best!

  11. Dim Sum and dumplings are my favorite Asian food. If I could make them at home, aaaaah, I’d be in heaven. I must admit your receipe makes it sound easy – so I’ll have to try it once i get over my soup kick. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I feel honored!

  12. I love dim sums. Every now and then after our Sunday church we would treat ourselves with a dim sum “Brunch.” Carts full of dim sums and noodles would pass our table and I feel like a kid browsing inside a candy store. A delicious recipe. Your food preparations and photos are irresistible. Thank you and Happy Thanksgiving to you and your loves ones.

  13. This looks amazing! Even though I’m a vegan cook I do still use honey, and I want to try this out as soon as I get my hands on some dumpling wrappers. Thanks!

  14. Shiitake, edamame, water chestnut! I love your love for texture. And your wrapping skills look like you have been cooking up dim sum for decades! I want to bite my computer screen 🙂

Leave a Reply

